FSH 1.64, FT4 12.8, FT3 4 could I have secondary hypothyroidism

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi. I have a lot of the symptoms of hypothyroidism but have been pushed down the chronic fatigue syndrome. Am I wrong to think I might have hypothyroidism? Thanks. 

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hello Jenny:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

I think you meant TSH not FSH!   TSH is a scale and indicates thyroid Hypo or Hyper.

If you are at 1.64 you are okay.  Normal Is: 0.45 to 4.50.  If your on the low end that means Hyper and if you are at the high end it means HYPO. You are in the mid zone which is good.

Can you please post your lab work  again but correctly!  Your numbers are not correct and I can tell from this post.   FT4 is different than T4 level. Make sure you post it as written on the lab paper, please!

I need to see the proper levels.  Normal FT4 is 0.82 to 1.77 so please post them and with the lab's ranges.

Regards,

Shelly

• Posted

Hi. Thanks for the reply. Yes I meant TSH. 

Results (UK)

thyroid stimulating hormone 1.64

free thyroxine 12.8

free t3 4.0

• Posted

Hello Jenny

TSH is okay at 1.64 norm 0.45 to 4.50.

FT4 ...12.8  should be( 0.82 1.77)   too high at 12.8

FT3.... 4.0  should be (2.50 to 3.90)  a little bit high 

You have some abnormal results and are you on any Thyroid meds? I would see an Endocrinologist.

What symptoms do you have?

Hypo symptoms are: Tired, feels depressed, feels COLD, no energy, weight gain, brain foggy, brittle nails, dry skin, acne, muscle aches, low temp and low heart rate, no periods or infrequent ones.

Hyper: Losing weight, insomnia, feels anxious, nervousness, eye bulging, rapid heart rate, feels HOT, feels sweaty, heavy periods.

So tell me what symptoms you have.

Regards,

Shelly

• Posted

Hi Jenny