Functioning drinking

Posted , 7 users are following.

I have been drinking 20+ beers 5 out of 7 days for the last 3 years.  Most of the time I drink over 24 beers.  In the same time my salary has went from 60k to 130k.  Also, my personal life went from gf to nada!

I just left my job because it enables my drinking.  I perform extremely well but at times have been very short tempered while intoxicated.   I told a few of my supervisors that I had drinking issues on many occassions.  When i finally left the company emailed me telling me to 'come back soon'.

I am a functioning drinker.  I can do my job sober or drunk.   When I get drunk it is hard to tell.  With that said i am ruining my life.  My body is suffering.  And no matter what i tell myself my work is suffering.  Enabling is bad and mostly comes from family members.  But sometimes it comes from outside influences.  And when enabling is tied to high pay and bonuses it is a very bad thing.  

I quit my job and am going to visit family.  It was a tough decision.  But the right one.  

Be strong everyone.   There are a ton of reasons to be weak.  But zero good ones.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Your resolve to take your life back and get healthy, physically and psychologically, is inspiring and encouraging. Despite the money you were making you realized what your priorities should be. Good luck and well done.
  • Posted

Have you looked into Naltrexone or the other drugs that block the pleasure your brain thinks it gets from alcohol. Read about the Sinclair Method. You take one pill one hour before you have your first drink. I've been doing this for three months and have seen a decrease in my attraction and behavior about drinking. This program has a 78% success rate and can take up to a year to completely quiet your brain's desire for alcohol. I think it's going to save my life.

• Posted