GABA PENTIN for arthritis with Ulcerative Colitis

Posted , 2 users are following.

I have Ulcerative Colitis and the arthritis/joint pain that goes with it.  I am not supposed to take and NSAIDS at all. My gastro said tylenol was fine but anyone who has arthritis knows tylenol does nothing for joint pain. My dr. first prescdribed me on Cymbalta and it was amazing for pain, however  I started to get very depressed on it and was worried about how hard it was to come off.  She has now started me on 25mg twice daily.  It is helping a little not too much as the dose is so low. My question is I just looked up and read that it can make your stomach bleed and actually cause  colitis.  Anyone out there with Crohns or colitis taking  Gaba?  Also do you gain as much weight as they say?

Thank you

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

It sounds like you're having a tough time.  I hadn't heard to gab and abdominal issues. I'm not a doctor but am in a couple of groups regarding gab and have been on it for 19 months. In the info I found, it said "incidence not known" meaning it may occur, but we have no idea how often. I'd not consider it a side effect. However the ones they list as less common (depression, emotional issues, confusion) are quite common in the posts I read. I've had about 15-25 of them. Both Cymbalta and gab can cause some real misery when you want to get off of the drug. For many of us, the side effects become to miserable and it turns out it doesn't really help the pain.