GABAPENTIN: What the FDA needs to know!

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello, everyone!

Today, I realized as a very frequent and loud complainer about gabapentin, I should stop complaining here and do something about it. 

When I worked as a critical care RN I believed strongly in being an advocate for my patients.  I dislike that I am in so much pain, but I am now the only person to stick up for myself.

I feel I have a high tolerance for pain.  I am one of 5% of my dentists patients, who go without any anesthetic for fillings and things of that type.  At 13 years old I fractured my ankle in a couple of places in gymnastic practice.  I did not seek medical treatment until 3 months later.  In the morning I awoke to find my ankle had fused during the night and my toes were permanently pointed.  I was unable to put my foot down to walk.  I had to walk on my toes on the affected foot/ankle until I had surgical intervention.  When they did the initial x-ray on my ankle, the radiologist stated I had an old fracture in my foot from two years ago.

Neither of these injuries seemed significant.  I felt the fractures at the time, they hurt for a second and I put ice on the area.  I am not a huge baby about pain.

This is where I come to the point about gabapentin.  If I feel this strongly about the misery this medication has caused, it is time to notify the FDA and send a strongly worded complaint about this drug.

My worry is with the opioid crisis this will become even more widely prescribed.  Patients may get to the point they take this drug, develop too many side-effects or this becomes a more widely used street drug with serious consequences.