Gall bladder / liver / IBS

Posted , 4 users are following.

About 4 weeks ago I was admitted to A&E with severe pain, epigastric and over to the right side. At first I thought it was respiratory related because the pain was also intermittently behind my right shoulder blade. The only abnormality shown was a raised liver enzyme, I was discharged home. 2 weeks later I am in tears with the pain, so I contact the GP. During the phone call she appeared to already assume its IBS, my bowel movements haven't changed, I have zero pain in my middle or lower abdomen and no concerns with anything bowel related. I am a nurse so I'm quite confident it's not IBS. My liver enzymes are raised due to an increase in alcohol during last year, which I have now become T-Total, although 4 weeks on all of my bloods are OK but my liver levels are still significantly raised. My GP has said I shouldnt be in pain with my liver as it doesn't cause pain, and has stopped all my pain medication (I was consciously not taking this unless absolutely necessary due to the raised LFTs) the gp also diagnosed IBS and was very unhelpful, basically ending the call. I believe I have gall stones, and the raised liver enzymes and my Gps assumption of IBS is almost distracting her from realising that a scan would be the best option for me. The pain is so severe at times I am unable to do anything apart from squirm to try and get comfortable, it reduces me to tears. There is no flatulence or bowel moment associated with any of this.

I want my GP to take my concerns seriously, I'm feeling so fatigued and have been in consistent pain of a moderate level today for 5 hours now. I can't go on like this much longer, I know something is wrong, but my GP just won't listen to me. I constantly feel like I could pass out because of the pain and at times I actually want to so I no longer feel it.