Gallbladder pain but ultrasound normal

Posted , 7 users are following.

ive been getting pain all over lower and upper abdomen... dull and sharp... but mainly where my gallbldder is at and across.. they did an xray of abdomen that was normal and ultrasound! can something still be wrong with gallbladder or can i get pain from something else in that area? im always hurting and need to go see dr again but so depressed .. i dont feel good and wondering if anybody has gone thru this

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I am not a doctor, but I get pain in that area a (after consuming certain fatty foods (mostly store-bought pastries), super fatty meat (pork and beef) and also if I have coffee I will get pain later in the day (I gave up coffee - it was worth it!) Also drinking alcohol seems to give me pains in that area.I do not have my gallbladder.

Just a thought....my gallbladder was removed because it wasn't working properly because one of my valves was closing itself off. It wasn't that I had gallbladder stones like most people who have their GB removed.

I hope you are being proactive and asking your doctor about it.

• Posted

Hi Nicole,

I wish I could help you but I've got a very similar problem. However, my pain is right in between my shoulder blades but in my back. It's really bad. Like a stabbing pain. I've also been having night sweats for the past few months which actually wake me up. No sweats during the day.

This also occurs after a fatty meal.

I've also had an abdominal ultrasound that revealed only cysts in my liver which were described as simple ( but they were big because I watched the sonographer measuring them.

Every time I see my GP I think she must think I'm a hypochondriac because she just offered me anti depressants that have the side effect of stopping perspiration.