Gastric Bypass pre op

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all,

Im a complete novice when its come to these types of things but have just been approved for a Gastric Bypass & am awaiting an op date, does anyone have any bits of info I should be aware of beforehand?

Thanks smile

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi

No im waiting for a date too....but im having a problem thats coz i know its happening instead of loosing weight before surgery like i have been im now constantly eating....and gaining back wot i lost...u think its fright and nerves. Have u experienced anything like this. 

• Posted

Hey, I know exactly what you mean as I've had the same problem! I was doing really well (for me anyway) with managing to lose 2 stone in the last 5 months or so but since I've had my surgery confirmed I've gone abit off track... I have convinced myself that it was ok to eat all the foods I loved as would hopefully be the last time I would be able to eat them & I felt like I didn't want to deny myself or regret missing out but now I feel pretty rough as I think my body has adjusted to eating better... It's a total catch 22!
    • Posted

Hi

Exactly!! YOU completely understand. Now i know this is bad but im so glad im not going insane and am not the only one.  I hope the hospital dont set me back by this as i have an appointment tomorrow and am so worried I'll have to wait till next month for a decision on a date.   Its kind of depressing.  I actually am frightened to eat food yet cant stop myself. Its hideous! 

However i will get back on track and so will you.

• Posted

Of course you will, time will let us learn to adjust but I think it's okay to treat yourself a little beforehand. Good luck smile
  • Posted

Hi Sherbert,