Gastritis is making me depressed and I cant end the cycle. :'(

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi everyone. Im new to this so I dont even know if this will work. (Im hoping so).

Ive been suffering for about 2 years now with gastritis. It all started where i wpuld wake up at like 2am and feel extremely hungry and have like a knawing pain in my stomach and i would just eat a slice of bread thinking i was just "hungry". It then turned into like a reflux type thing as i would try to sleep, thats how i knew something was wrong. 

I had an upper endoscopy and a Helicobacter pylori test which came back nagative.

I was just told to take PPIs (omeprozole) and sent on my way. It was classed as "mild gastritis".

Now.....Im not sure what severe would be but mine wakes me up EVERYNIGHT...I feel sick and i cant eat anything without burping or feeling uncomfortable.

Ive tried a very bland diet...sleeping upright....water...exercise....slippery elm...cutting out dairy....red meat....all the things they say try and im still suffering.

Has anyone or know anyone thats cured this and can go back to "normal"? Or is this a condition im gonna have to tip toe around for the rest of my life? sad Its making me very tired and very depressed. Im 31 years old and have a 2 year old daughter. I also would like another baby but the risk of this getting worse is stopping me. Its literally ruining my life.

I dont religeously take the omperezole as i have tinnitus also which im scared it will effect and make my mood plummet even more....would that be a way to go?

And how do i know this iant ruining my stomach and leading to cancer? My head is in a terrible place right now and the doctors do not care...Im very skinny. Im 5"10 and 8stone. Because i cant eat any fat i look horrendous.

Id really appreciate any help. Thank you so much xx

2 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

I would take the omeprazole every day because it will help to control the acid.
    • Posted