Weight - 58

Race - south african Indian

Any existing diagnosed medical issues (if any) -na

Current medications and doses (if any) -na

Drug Use (including usage of marijuana) (if any) -na

Smoking Status - occasionally

Duration of complaint - 2 weeks

Issue you're having (be as detailed as possible) - Hello everyone,

I am an international student going to study at MIT next year, in order to do so i need to complete a medical report form. I have had the chickenpox vaccination as a child but also had chickenpox (as a child).

In order to complete the forms I need to provide antibody titer blood tests to prove immunity, my result for varicella was positive. My doctor explained to me that this can't determine between current infection/immunity and therefore ordered a second blood test.

I did not have any symptoms of chickenpox at the time but noticed genital lesions and had a sore throat this morning. I have read that genital chickenpox is a possibility.

What should I do from here on forward? I am so tired of this doctor I have spent so much money wasted with him on these tests and vaccinations. He ordered some tests that weren't needed and some that I could have just received other vaccinations for so it is frustrating and I don't want to go back but it would be difficult to change doctors at this stage in the game.

My questions are- What do you advise?

If I do have chickenpox what does this mean? Would I have to get the Varicella vaccine again to prove immunity? Is it possible to get it while "infected?" or would I have to wait? What is the average cost of the vaccine?

0 likes, 0 replies

0 Replies

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!