Get a grip on this! My GP wanted...

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi folks!

I went to my gp to check and see if I had an upper respiratory infection. It's just a common cold, but my bp went up to 174/92 from 158/86 a few weeks ao. I posted in another discussion, that I have weaned myself off of the 5 mg of amlodipine. When she saw my newest readings, she wanted to increase the dosage to 10mg!!! I told her of the way that I have been experiencing with zoning out and stuff. She said that she has some of her patients who are on the meds and don't experience what I am going through. She said that it could also be anxiety. She also encouraged me to take the meds at night.  Suggestions?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Rozanne321...I'm not surprised that your bp went up from 174/92 from 158/86.

Whenever the body is fighting something, the bp goes up. I'm also a little surprised your doctor didn't suggest this to you, or to even suggest you wait 'til the cold is gone before increasing the bp meds. While some people don't experience what you're going through (re the meds) that doesn't mean what you may be experiencing is all in your head. We are all different. What does the doctor think taking the meds at night will do? Settle you down???  Why not suggest to her that before the meds are increased..wait 'til the cold is gone??

• Posted

Hi Mike!

Happy New Year!

I never thought that because my body is fighting something that my bp would go up.My temp was 98.3  Oh and I told her, and not to be disgusting about thie, that the phlegm from my nostrils ahs been clear, but when I cough, it's like a pale yellow. This morning it's a pale yellow from either source, but I am able to get rid of it. She didn't put me on any medications for that. She wants me to take benadryl, but she said that this would make me very sleepy. I am taking in lots of fluids, orange juice, you know, the stuff that folks do to get rid of a cold.