Getting better after ankle fracture

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am 10 weeks post ORIF (Trimaleoar ankle fracture)...finally can walk almost like before! Wearing normal shoes, no aids used...still limping but getting better every day!  The challenge is going downstairs...Looking forward to start hiking again, got myself a new pair of hiking boots with very good ankle support...

Back to work full time couple of weeks ago ( I am a nurse in a care home).

Wish everybody here a speedy and uncomplecated recovery, good luck!

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Congratulations 😀‼️ Looking forward to buying new shoes too!

Karran

• Posted

Awesome. There are you tube videos of how to walk up and down post break.

Knowing you are doing so well is up lifting. I can do stairs now, but with rail and crutch. Physio taught me.

©{°×°}©

• Posted

I am 19 weeks out of ORIF trimalleolar fracture too. You are doing really great at 10 weeks! Re. going downstairs, I just got that down. It is just a matter of strength (calf/toe strength). Try to go up on both sets of toes by the bed, then to slowly go up on just one set (on the injured leg). It is really tough at first. Try to walk on your toes as you get better. Do a lot of calf stretches. It will come. Congrats on your recovery!!
    • Posted

You really are supportive and full of tried and tested ideas. Thanks??

Have you had shingles? I believe my husband with the recovering broken stiff hand has. Gosh, I say broken bones, bullied child, Baker's Cyst, and now shingles, what next? Then I look at all your lovely supportive comments and just get on with it.

Thanks.??????????????????

• Posted