Getting off Venlafaxine after 10 years

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have read a lot of entries about this drug, and I do agree with many that at first it did its job.  To pout you in the picture I have been on 225mg for 25 years now and like some have been very apprehensive about stopping due to extreme withdrawl.

Yes some may criticise my deciding to go cold turkey, but I do feel that venlafaxine is like any addictive drug with one exception, it is fear of withdrawl that stops many from even trying.  I am now on my 5th day and yes the symptoms are shocking in more ways than one (srry bout pun).  My reason to decide is simple.. Do I need venlafaxine anymore?  Simple answer No!  I just got to the comfort and routine of taking it every day.  Don't get me wrong cold turkey is not necessarily the right way unless you have an iron constitution, and willpower.  I am no expert so please do not take all I say as gospel.

Whilst the withdrawl is bad at the moment, I have noticed a clarity in my mind growing as time goes by, it almost as if I a getting part of myself back and it is no longer negative or suicidal as of many years ago that I lost to venlafaxine (My faith is a big part of this too.).