Getting shingles from working

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have a co-worker who says they got shingles from work. She said that it called occupational shingles

Is this true? You can get shingles from work?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Simple answer, no. Shingles is caused by the chicken pox virus which is dormant. If she means she was under a lot of stress at work, and her immune system was impaired by it and she developed shingles, that's her definition.

• Posted

Dora,

Herpes Zoster-Shingles is a reactivation of the varicella virus which has been dormant on the dorsal nerve root of the central nervous system until the immunity wanes. The individual would have had a prior case of chicken pox. One never catches shingles.

I am a nurse practitioner in the States.

Best Wishes.

Merry Juliana

• Posted

So there is no way she would of gotten any kind of shingles from work?

• Posted

No, you can not catch shingles. You CAN catch chicken pox from someone who has chicken pox, just as in catching a cold, the measles etc. Only in an extremely unusual situation could one get CHICKEN POX someone else's shingles rash, that person would then have chicken pox, not shingles. It's almost impossible to spread chicken pox from a shingles rash, but if I had an open, active rash which is exposed, I wouldn't allow an infant or someone with a compromised immune system to come in contact with THAT RASH. They could get chicken pox. So again, NO. All she could get would be stressed from work. What her body makes her vulnerable after that, who knows.

• Posted