Getting tired to be home - it’s now 4 weeks since my tkr surgery

Posted , 7 users are following.

Done my surgery on 19th of July 2019 my recovery has been very good since but now I seem to be going back instead of forward I have been having more pain and extreme stiffness especially at night. In two weeks I got a range of 90 degrees and the swelling has reduced significantly. I don’t know if anyone has that problem where they get really stiff at night and can’t sleep I should be back at work six weeks i’m not sure if that is going to happen based on how I’m feeling.I started to wear a brace I don’t know if that’s a good idea someone could tell me if they think I should wear a brace for strenght and balance overall I think I’m not doing very badly but we tend to get impatient I havent been home for so long I’m not used to that so I Am getting depressed .thanks for everyone’s thoughts that really encourages me not to get too impatient.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi. I had my TKR on 5-7-19. I still have difficulty at night - this is normal.

Do not wear a brace!!! Do not do anything unless your surgeon or physio tells you too!!!! That is really bad idea.

This is a major op and it takes a lot of time to heal. You sound like you are on track, and if you are not back at work in 6 weeks, so be it - the doctor will sign you off longer. My first TKR on my other knee I was off 10 weeks. This one , who know - just take it a day at a time.

try not to let it get you down - use this time to pamper yourself, read books you never have time too, take short walks in the good weather and relax.

But seriously - leave the brace a lone - could cause more harm than good.

• Posted

Thanks so much for your advice I will put the brace away .