Glaucoma

Posted , 2 users are following.

I had been tackling with my Glaucoma and also AMD situation since Oct, 2015. Both still not too serious as my eyesight remains almost the same as last 5 years with minor change in one eye. Thus my eye sight is quite alright at my advanced age. I had been using Travatan once a day and Azopt twice a day for the last about 3 years. Up till now, a well qualified Ophthalmologist expert in Retina was looking after my both problems.

Recently I went to another well qualified Opthalmologist dealing with Glaucoma patients who advised that in my case, I need to try only one eye drop. I told him that Travatan was tried alone also but it could keep IOP between 17 to 20 and not the desired IOP of 15-16. Hence he prescribed Xalatan which he said is almost similar to Travatan but worth trying in my case. Thus I have started using it for last 2 days.

**In view of above, may I ask those with experience of using Xalatan about their views about it. **

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Iqbal I have been using xalatan for 4 years now, I don't have any problems with it but I do question its efficacy used alone only side effects I get are long eye lashes and slight dry eye after use.

• Posted

Thanks for your response. Do you use any other eye drop with it. If so, do inform me about it so that it can help if I also feel so which should be clear in 2 weeks time. A problem with me that no drops with beta blocker element suit me.

• Posted

I also use a combined dorzolomide and timolol, timolol is a beta blocker but you can get dorzolomide on its own as I have used this in the past also one brand is called trusopt.

• Posted

Many thanks. When I go the Doc after 2-3 weeks to check my IOP, I will suggest it if some supplement is required with Xalatan for me.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!