Going cold turkey from codiene, can anyone help?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have been taking codiene or cocodamol prescription strength for 8 years now, for unexplained joint pain. At the start I would only take one or two here and there, but slowly over time I went up to 8 a day. Over the past year I have suffered a trauma, and my in take of these tablets has gone to 20, sometimes 30 a day. When my script for codiene runs out, I buy solpediene max to get my to my next script. I'm so ashamed of myself. I have engaged in talking therapy & take venlafaxine for depression & severe anxiety, but I am an expert at hiding my codiene addiction so it has never been picked up on. Ive tried tapering but as soon as anxiety takes over I'm popping 4 pills in one go just to calm down. I know I need to make this stop because it's contributing to my mental health problems. I have decided to go cold turkey, I have no pills in the house. At the moment I just feel tired, my mood is very low and I have a slight headache.

I would really appreciate it if anyone reading this who can relate or has overcome cold turkey would share their story & advice with me. I'm feeling lost and scared right now.

Xx

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

My advice would be to not go cold turkey. I withdrew from codeine use a while ago and got very sick even with the taler plan my dr had arranged for me. So i wasnt even going cold turkey. Speak to your dr and explain whats going on. He will help you likely by giving you codeine and gradually reducing your intake
  • Posted

Hi there 

i see alot of similar posts to yours on here,so your not alone,however the tiredness and moods you are experiencing are simply a symptom of the codeine ( or opiaite ) changing the chemical balance in your brain ..its nothing serious