Going to meet surgeon on Wednesday

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have been battling HS for almost 8 years now! They have tried over 8 medications and nothing is working. I have it under my arms. I was wondering has anyone had surgery or any advice you have. Very nervous and scared

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

My daughter has had excision on both armpits a year ago and again in one armpit this past March. She still has flare ups now on the other arm. Provides temporary relief. I say try it.
    • Posted

Also she is 17 and very active in sports so I do believe thats part of the frequent flare ups as well
    • Posted

The one they are wanting to do is removing my sweatgland! Is that what your daughter had done?
  • Posted

Hi. I've heard that surgery is an option when your hs is a constant problem which mine is but I'm not at a point where I can have the surgery to remove it from under my arms right now cuz I've got a 2yr old to take care of so all I've heard is they take the hs away but also some good skin/flesh too so that it won't come back. I don't know much more than that at this time but I think it's a good opportunity to have some relief from the hs so good luck and wish you well. I'm sure everything will be ok smile
    • Posted

Thank you so much! I am scared to be put under and I have heard the first 5 days after surgery is rough jist don't know what to expect
    • Posted

I have a 2 year old also. I am having the surgery on August 16. I noticed that you are not opting for surgery because you have a 2 year old and that is completely understandable. Now, I am afraid of surgery. I currently live with my mom, and she is supposed to help me after surgery. However, I am still afraid because I have to be honest about my mom meaning she will help but not much. In the past 2 years I have had several surgeries, and I went days in pain because I didn't have enough help from my mom. Now, I do not know what to do.

Report or request deletion