graves disease or hypo

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am recently diagnosed with graves but need surgery as I have a sinester lump. I have been offered partial or total thyroidectomy. The surgeon suggested that if I had the whole thyroid removed then that would take care of the graves..but then I would have hypo. Any advice?

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lou ...  I'm no expert ... and I'm not familiar with the type of lump that you have ... I will look it up though....  but I have had Graves' disease  for around ten months,  diagnosed   and maybe a year or so before diagnosis I think.

my GP said that I shouldn't worry as they could give me RAI or surgery to remove my thyroid at the time ..   I had a very long think about that and joined this forum ...  and gained so much knowledge in a very short time ..

i decided that I really needed to have my thyroid to regulate my whole body   and that I would take care of my immune system , which was attacking my thyroid  ......  long story short ..l was put on carbimazole .. 20mg per day  reducing gradually till I was eventually on 5 mg per day then none .....   that was 2 or maybe 3 weeks ago  .. ...   during that wholee period I took many supplements ......  if you press on my name you can read what I took .

all of those supplements plus the Carbimazole ... and I am now Euthroid ...  that is ...all my bloods are now  normal  !!!!!    so I'm assuming if you have the lump removed   and not the whole of your thyroid you could also control your Graves' disease  in the same way ...  please think hard about doing that.......before you take a very drastic step....  as I'm sure there are hundreds of good folk on here  who would tell you  that the alternative  is a very unpleasant way of life for many. 

I wish you all the very best of luck whatever you decide 🌹

• Posted