Growth on the back of my head

Posted , 4 users are following.

i've had the growth since i was young. However it's grown slightly since then. What's noticable is its pertruding more. i've done some research, but trying to describe it is quite difficult. I would like to know what it is and whether it can be removed. i'm a Tree surgeon so it's becoming uncomfortable with helmet use. Thanks

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I don't know what that is, but I think you should see a doctor about it.  There's a small possibility it could be a melanoma, but that's unlikely if you've had it so long.  Whatever it is, it's unlikely to go away without treatment.

It's probably nothing serious, but I'd see a doctor in the next few days if I were you, rather than keep putting it off, and I'd keep it covered on sunny days.  If you could let us know what the doctors say, it would be appreciated.

• Posted

Better image. Doctors appointment booked for next week.  i've always presumed it was some type of birth mark or mole. But i can't find anything similar on MD websites/forums. it's not painful but i can feel pain if i pinch it.

• Posted

I think those may just be warts, which would be nothing to worry about, but I'm glad you've made an appointment.  I'm surprised that a barber/hairdresser hasn't suggested it.

• Posted

That looks more like warts, but more of them than were visible on the first two pics.  I'm not a doctor though, so good luck, and let us know what the doctor (or dermatologist if you get referred) says.

• Posted

The photos don't really do it justice. Most people who see it presume it's a wart, then they change their mind and say i don't have a clue. Barbers don't have a clue. it almost looks like brain tissue, the way it's formed. 

• Posted

I would have that checked by a Doctor. He'll probably do a biopsy. Better to be safer then sorry.

• Posted