Had keyhole hysterectomy 2 and a half weeks ago wondering about work

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hiya was wondering if anyone has any ideas,about going back to work after having keyhole hysterectomy,as been told I should not Hoover etc for 6weeks and also been signed off for 6weks ,so am I expected to go from doing hardly any normal chores to going to work,bit worried as I don't want to take it really easy at home, then suddenly back to normal,as I work in a factory moving pallets .lifting

,and lots off twsting ,don't want to go backwards any advice would be good thankyou.x

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi there, as you do heavy lifting at work then I think you need to discuss this with your GP or your consultant as even after 6 weeks heavy lifting could be a problem, I am almost 2 years post op and on occasion lifting anything heavy still has a bit of an impact, I'm not saying it will affect you in the same way but your insides will take a long time to heal 100% (you are also quite possibly a lot fitter than I am, I was 61 when I had my hysterectomy), I would definitely speak with your GP.

Phoebe

• Posted

Hi Lisa - Don't be tempted to do any lifting or twisting during your recovery period - even if you feel ok.  I had a vaginal hysterectomy and felt well from day one - no pain or discomfort.  At 2 weeks post op I twisted just removing a plug from behind the sofa and had a severe bleed later in the day.

I don't want to worry you but your job does not seem like the type of work you should do at all after your op.  I was told that I would always need to be wary of lifting even after a successful recovery period.

Best of luck - but remember not to overdo it especially in the early weeks.

Shani wink

• Posted