Hair loss

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, I’ve been on levothyroxine for 2 weeks and have noticed I am losing hair, not to a large extent thank goodness but I am noticing much more hair on my brush and also on my clothing. I feel anxious and concerned about this and am wondering if it has happened to anyone else, or if anyone could give me any advice to help stop it. Thanks 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I’ve been on Levothyroxine for 17yrs & my hair is half the thickness it was. I’m at my wits end but doctors take no notice when I mention my anxiety of it

• Posted

Hi Cindy  I’m new to this as well. Have been on 25 mcg of Levothyroxine for just a little over 2 months now (was diagnosed in Feb but am assuming I’ve had this for many years) & altho I’ve noticed thinning hair over the last several years (that I’d always attributed to getting older)  I have def noticed more hair loss since starting Levo.  It’s upsetting of course but am hoping it lessens once my dose is correct? I just got my new bloodwork results back & need to post them ...they are all such a wealth of knowledge here that unfortunately most of our Drs aren’t. I’m really anxious for advice as well on the hair loss  ...& most importantly the test results! Tnx for this post Cindy  & will continue to follow it ..hang in there smile

• Posted

There are many symptoms associated with an under active thyroid or hypothyroidism....they develop in time. Hair thinning and hair loss are typical of an under active thyroid. Not much you can do about it...becoming anxious about it will get you nowhere.

You need to look at your lifestyle, your diet....it is an autoimmune disease. Invest in good supplements, try an holistic approach, good shampoos, conditioners and masks...I use Kerastase. Wheat free, sugar free diet....lots of vegetables and fruit, exercise....there is no quick fix.

• Posted