Has anyone had pain relief from PHN using epidural steroid injections?

Posted , 14 users are following.

I have suffered from PHN for 5 months.  Dr. Attaman, from Seattle, offers intercostal nerve block, which he says in his blog that there is 90% success rate with this treatment. *** Complete pain relief for three months with many reporting no returning pain. ***    Does anyone reading this have any experience with this type of treatment?  Was it successful?  Were there side effects?   Also, has anyone had epidural steroid injections for PHN?  Was this  successful?

My pain is so severe and I have tried several medication and actupuncture. Thank you for your response. 

0 likes, 37 replies

37 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I'd be very, very careful about any invasive procedure. Doctors want to DO something (I worked in healthcare as a medical secretary for over 30 years) which is often beneficial, but can make things worse. Do as much research as possible before you'd try this. I know it's so hard when the pain is bad and you think you've reached your limit. Keep searching these forums to see if others had relief, what their side effects were and how long it lasted. I'd use that as a better reflection of the outcomes than his blog.

• Posted

Thank you for your note.  My pain is so severs that I must try anything for relief.  Tuesday is my treatment.  
  • Posted

I've had three intercostal nerve blocks, and I must have fallen in that 10 percent stat that it doesnt work because none, not a one worked for me. I had the VA do one and a private doctor do it twice. His solution when it the pain didn't go away, was a pill that is used to treat  migrane headaches! 2013 to present day I have a pain that runs from my naval to my spine. I have MS that further complicates the issue. Can someone suggest something, other than money making schemes? I am about to fall off a 6 year wagon, fall into alcholism again. 

• Posted