Have cut way back on alcohol consumption but looking for advice

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi folks..looking for bit of advice here. My background is I definitely have drink problem but always drank vodka. Was sober for many years but started drinking vodka again couple of years ago. About 18 months ago decided to stop suddenly which was very foolish & had very bad withdrawal with dt's etc. Anyway for last 5 or 6 months I have been drinking Rose wine (9.5%)  every day..I am working & holding down my job no problem. I find that I don't have shakes/sweats/nausea etc next morning that I had when I drank vodka. I have been drinking about 5 glasses of Rose a day (well afternoon & evening after work). I can get up next morning & go to work & I'm ok..then I come home & do same again. But I am just wondering if I were to stop would I get bad withdrawals again even tho'  I don't get shakes etc next morning & am fine in that respect. It's just when I get home the craving is there & I have a few glasses every evening. Last 3 days I only had 3 glasses..it's now the weekend & I find that I have had 2 already today & will probably have 2 or 3 more if I'm honest this evening. I suppose my main question is does the fact that I don't have any physical symptoms next morning or any time nxt day really mean that I'm not physically dependent on it like I was with the spirits ? Sorry for rambling..! Would appreciate any replies..I live on my own and I actually quite enjoy the few glasses of wine whereas with the vodka I really was not enjoying it & it was making me so sick

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Cherry 

I quit cold about 4 months ago I was drinking 1.5 liters of wine a day. I saw the doctor and he helped me with a med for 4 days. I had a couple of slips at the 3 month mark but...now the last 3 days I have found my self drinking again.

To answer your question I suggest you see a doctor and go from there.

Best of luck to you.