Have hiv symptoms and tested negative at 6 weeks.

Posted , 6 users are following.

On March 7 I had unprotected sex for 5-10 seconds and I realized I was doing wrong and used a condom after. After 2 weeks from exposure I got a bad itchy rash on my arm and also sore throat .After another weeks I started getting abdominal pain with nausea lost 12 pounds couldn’t eat nothing with bad headache since of now I have diarrhea and white tongue and ulcer on top of my gum with weak muscles specially my legs.

I tested for all std’s and hiv on March 22nd and all came negative 

I tested at 4 weeks for all std and hiv all negative 

I tested at 6 weeks for hiv 1 and 2 and tested negative as well 

I’m at my 9th week rn and i still have these symptoms I feel like completely crap.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Here is what I can share about testing, and I am not a doctor by the way... so this is not professional advice.  However, I think my response can help put you at ease.

Statistically, you are not infected. 6 weeks is considered conclusive by most doctors assuming you used a Gen IV test, which is the combination antigen/antibody DUO test. It can be positive in 10 days and by 4 weeks, I believe the test is 96-98% accurate. It would be positive if you were infected. You can test again but according to STD experts, you should expect the same negative result. Look up testing guidelines from a reputable site such as the CDC and you will feel better.

When you said that you tested for all STD's on March, 22nd - note that for Herpes (HSV2) it would take about 16 weeks for the test to 100% accurate, viral hepatitis by 6 weeks (which is low exposure). Bacterial infections would show up sooner.