Have type 2 diabetes and would like other peoples' opinions.

Posted , 4 users are following.

I'm a 68 year old quite fit lady, and I've had type 2 diabetes for about 12 years now and feel I've handled it well, until now. I have been getting increasingly thirsty in the morning on waking, don't know why, as I feel I drink enough fluids through the day.  I'm not on insulin, just metformin. My sugar was 7.4 last blood test, and my diabetic nurse said I need to get it down, so gave me 6 weeks of "tightening" things up to do this, which has been VERY boring, as not one piece of chocolate has passed my lips, or any other sugary stuff either!  But plus I don't sleep well, only 3-4 hours if I'm lucky, then wide awake, and can't get back to sleep sometimes for 3 hours, then I have to be careful I don't sleep past breakfast time.  I'm feeling it's all quite a struggle now.  Does anyone else feel like this, if so, how do you handle things? 

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I'm no expert but have read a lot about diabetes as was told I'm at risk of T2. One thing I have understood is that sleep is important and I've gathered lack of it can mess things up for diabetics.

I know the feeling very well re. getting up to go to the loo in the night then lying awake unable to get back to sleep for no good reason, subsequently sleeping through breakfast time!!  Also when you mention 'sugary stuff' I presume you mean all carbs?

Could it be that as you've had diabetes for 12 years it is starting to progress and further meds/insulin might be looming on the horizon? sad 

• Posted