Health Anxiety but too scared to go to GP

Posted , 4 users are following.

Does anyone else have this - I have a constant stream of health anxiety issues but very rarely make an appointment to see my GP because I am too terrified of the whole experience and possible results. I spend months ruminating on the problem - googling it - a no-no I know - etc until it either goes away or something more pressing takes it place. I have been plucking up the courage for several months just to go to the opticians to have my eyes tested for new glasses because I din't want my eyes photographed - even though I am under the hospital for a different eye condition anyway. I just can't go for any type of tests at all - if I ever get a hospital letter I feel physically sick - just the sight of the breast scanning mobile units sends me into a panic and I know I've got to go soon and I am dreading it ..............there's just no peace. It's not just health issues either - loads of other stuff 0 I am so tired...x

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I know how this feels very well. Recently I was going through a bad anx time, and was day by day feeling very ill. Eventually I went to hospital and it turns out I had an infection and was dehydrated. Terrifying to be forced to go, but relieved too that it offers some explanation for feeling bad
  • Posted

Its better to go and ease your mind.  I know its scary but sometimes whatever the answer is you would be able to deal with it.  Do some breathing techniques before you go and try to tell yourself that everything will be ok.