Health anxiety is taking over my LIFE!!!

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello I'm new to this. I've noticed that many people are in the same boat as me. I am only 20 years old and I suffer with Health Anxiety (Hypochondria) really badly. I believe it all started when my mum passed away, I am Constantly checking my body for lumps and always think I have a serious illness (usually cancer). These past few weeks I have found a few lumps in my head and my head has become quite sore, I spoke to a doctor on the NHS helpline and he thinks it's cysts, I'm over thinking though and worried it's something a lot more serious like a brain tumour or leukaemia.. Could anyone help or does anyone understand what I'm going through? I just want someone to tell me that I will be okay, nobody listens to me and I get called an "attention seeker" but anyone who suffers from HA will know that attention seeking is the last thing we think of doing.... 😞😞

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

It's alright, you are not being attention seeking so don't feel guilty! This type of anxiety can be hard to deal with but remember that your 20 (around my age) and it is VERY unlikely that any types of cancers are developing. If it makes you feel more at ease than definitely get what you find checked by a doctor. But also remember that anxiety can be powerful and create symptoms as well, I've been through that part before smile don't worry!
  • Posted

Hi! I know what you're going through. I'm only 19 and I have extremely bad health anxiety which came from a health scare (which was actually nothing but a doctor's mistake) and everytime I feel such scary symptoms such as chest pain, fatigue, headaches, etc, I immediately think I'm gonna die or that I have some disease. Anxiety symptoms are very real but they can't hurt us, we have to tell ourselves that.
  • Posted

Hello abi.xo