Heart palpitations while being hypothyroid?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I'd like to ask if any of you had palpitations while being hypothyroid. My latest blood test showed a TSH of 24 and FT4 below the normal lower limit.

At times I am very tired and still, my heart is beating faster than normal (as if my body is struggling to keep me awake). Overall, I sleep longer than normal.

This is my first time posting a question on this forum. I was diagnosed with autoimmune hyperthyroidism in 2015 and I had a relapse in January this year. My endocrinologist prescribed antithyroid medication and apparently, my dose was too high. It has been reduced a few days back. In the past, I have experienced a raised resting heart rate while being hyperthyroid but I am bit confused right now as I assumed the heart slows down while being hypothyroid. 

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

That is a very high TSH. It should be below 4. Are you sure it’s correct? If it is, it’s hard to understand why your doctor would reduce the medication. I assume you are taking Levothyroxine?
    • Posted

Until a few days ago I was taking 20 mg Carbimazole per day. This is an antithyroid medication meant to reduce the production of Thyroxine. In January my TSH was <0.03 mU/L and my FT4 32.1 pmol/L.

• Posted

So you are now hypothyroid, and the Carbimazole dose has been reduced, so that makes sense. However the change in meds can take weeks to work, so do not expect change in a few days.
  • Posted

You are still a Graves person undergoing treatment. Your doctor made you hypo via meds. Something that might've taken many years even decades in a Hashi person to become. If you were a Hashi hypo person with your TSH and FT4 I doubt there would be any palpations unless they were overtreated w thyroid meds. So give it time, uou had TSI antibodies pouring out thyroid hormones when you had a relapse which wasnt too long ago.

• Posted