heavy bleeding

Posted , 8 users are following.

I'm 45 and I have been bleeding for almost four months periods of really heavy bleeding with large clots I have lower abdominal pain radiating from my lower back to front I do not have health insurance I'm very worried that it may be something serious can someone please tell me what this can be

3 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi, sorry to hear you have been bleeding for so long. You must see your GP who will then need to refer you for further tests. It's impossible to tell what's going on with out you being checked out properly and having a scan. Are you outside of the uk?
    • Posted

Hi Gizmo, I think she means she has had four months with heavy periods, not bleeding for four months. I am concerned about her too. I sent a long post but it is being moderated.
    • Posted

Jennifer01077 I've been bleeding nonstop for almost four months this is why I'm even more concerned
    • Posted

Annamaria, thanks for writing back and making it clear. So I read the other replies. One lady had the same situation and it was hormonal. Another lady had thyroid problems, and thought maybe it was because of that. 

Of course, if you can, gather some money together and go see a doctor. If it is thyroid problems, I don't know anything about it, except sweet potatoes? eating sweet potatoes, yams is supposed to help. But you can ask the doctor to do a thyroid check, a blood check, and an ultrasound of your uterus. Maybe you can phone ahead and ask the cost. 

But still, don't panic. At your age, it's probably hormones. Think about eating liver a lot, grape juice, anything with iron in it. And drink a lot of water. 

• Posted

Hello Annamaria,

First, I am so sorry about your situation. It is hard to be without medical insurance, and it is hard to deal with such heavy bleeding.