Heel pain

Posted , 13 users are following.

hi all,

my 74 year old mum had her left THP on 3rd JAN.

She has severe pain (burning) in both her heels and this wakes her in the night- she is literally groaning with the pain, has anyone else experienced this? have any idea what it is? I think its likely to be nerve related but I'm no doctor.

Also.. because she struggled so much for a year before being able to have her op, her 'good' leg knee deteriorated and its this 'good' leg thats now really hindering her, she was told by a doctor whilst in hospital that she may well need a knee replacement ..but other than that little cheery nugget of information didn't offer any helpful information as to what, if anything, can be done for this knee in the interim so it doesn't impact too much on the new hip / and recovery. Can anyone relate to this at all?

thank you

1 like, 26 replies

26 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi, I'm glad someone else has experienced this! I use to hang my foot out of the bed as the only way for comfort for me, it was only on the operated leg and didnt last too many days. Hope your mum gets relief soon.

• Posted

thank you. i think we may have found some relief with the folded towel for now as she isn't able to hang her foot out yet, but if it continues i'm sure she'll try it when she's more agile.

• Posted

hi, I had a THR 5 weeks ago and still get occasional heel pain. my physio said it was because I have had to sleep consistently on my back and havnt moved my leg much, it is a bit like a pressure pain. he suggested rather than a big elevation of a pillow, to use a folded towel under my calf ending just before my foot so my leg was hardly raised from the bed. it certainly did the trick though and the pain has stopped. much comfier than a cushion or pillow. x

• Posted

HI, thank you for your advice, she tried the towel last night and it was much better.

All the best for your continued recovery.

• Posted