Hell having IBS

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all IBS suffers out there. I can so relate to you all. The attacks starting with pain, you might make it to the bathroom and then the diarrhea, sweating, chills, fainting. It is such a terrible feeling. Yes you do Feel as though you are going to die, being scared to death and nothing to help stop this from happening again. It's difficult to hold down a job. I was a school bus driver and yes I had an attack. Thankfully no kids on bus at the time and yes I made it to a bathroom thank the lord but knowing I had to get back behind the wheel and get the children home was just not going to happen for me. Yes I didn't finish out my rt. There's no way I was going to put my kids in a dangerous position because I had a medical issue that was out of my control. That is why I can say it is difficult to work. Difficult to have a normal life. I can only pray that the medical field starts taking IBS more serious! Now that I have passed out I am even more afraid. Yes afraid to eat, afraid to live life not knowing when or were the next attack will happen. Please help us all with this terrible disease.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

you just have to learn to manage your symptoms as best you can. take anti-spasmodics, painkillers, immodium. try keeping a food diary to ID triggers. it is possible to have a job and a fairly normal life. attacks will still happen you just have to do the best you can when they do.
    • Posted

I do need to keep better track of my food. Idk nothing that I ate that set this off. No stress at the time. I don't have medicine so apparently I need to do research on this.

Thank you

• Posted