Hello

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey i had surgery July 27..i broke both bones on my ankle.i have plates and screws..Im 26 and very active its driving me crazy that i cannot do anything for myself.Today mark my 3 week.My doc said i can put a little weight on my leg.i started off wit a walkin boot..i am having pain where my cut is it Normal????

Someone help please

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Shantell- I'm not a doctor, but it seems too early to be putting weight on your leg after having surgery with plates and screws, but I'm sure your doctor must know best for your injury. I can say, from reading post here for almost six months, that seems quite unusual to me.

I have heard lots of people say they feel pain for some time by their incisions, even though I didn't have it. I heard people recommend putting padding in their boots. 

• Posted

I agree Patti. I was about 8 weeks b4 I was allowed to partial weightbare in moonboot post surgery. That many put my foot on the ground while seated!

Scar sites- I had a bone graft, and plated fibula with 6 screws.

Anything rubbing was a pain. In the moonboot and cast I had extra padding. Incision site has to heal, like any cut. It takes time. I took liquid extra strength Vitamin C for 4 weeks.

Scar still aches, 6 months post op and weather effects it. Walking on all day on makes it ache too. Gotta get uses to it.

You need a Physio to guide you.

Very early to weight bare with such a major injury and surgery. Query them is my advice.

@(*+*)@

• Posted

Hello patti

I think its weird to put weight on my ankle so soon.My doctor said i can and i also should use to towel to push my foot up so it wont be so stiff.

Thanks for the advice

• Posted