Hello fellow molluscumites. Looking for some encouragement.

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm a 44yo male. Got MC back in May, I think. Diagnosed in late August. Started treating in early September. So, if my guesses are correct, I've had this stuff for about 5 months and I've been treating it for about 2 months. Been using a combination of tea tree oil and iodine, occasional popping, and going to the derm every three or four weeks for some topical treatment called dibutylester, which I think has little or no effect. Results have been mixed. I've got rid of most, but others are popping up. Plus, the leftover scarring/discoloration is terrible and takes forever to fade. Pretty sure I got infected at the gym since the first lesions showed up a couple of months after I started going there every day and I guess my hygiene practices weren't the best. Prior to that, I always exercised at home. My entire epidermis seems to be going crazy now. I have terrible folliculitis, acne, and rash breakouts everywhere, in addition to the MC. It's revolting. And now it's really impacting my marriage, since I refuse to have normal sex with my wife for fear of infecting. I can't concentrate on work at all. I spend all day every day just reading about this crap and drifting off into depression, anxiety, and distraction.

I welcome any tips on treatment, and I'd love any ideas anyone has on how to get my head screwed back on straight. : ) Mentally, I am a wreck. Thanks! Sending empathy and good vibes to everyone out there who is dealing with this crap.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Edited