help

Posted , 3 users are following.

I'm really concerned I have bipolar disorder. My gp even laughed at me and just me antidepressants so that didn't help. I have been trying to distractive myself with creative outlets, I'm a jazz musician, a digital artist, I've even started coding, its rediculious. I'm getting worse, I hate to think what I'll be like in a few years from now.

I was hoping to find another avenue for help. Feeling pretty lost, I can't even talk to friends anymore.

N

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Ask for a federal to a psychiatrist, they are the only ones who can make a diagnosis. We all do it, but self diagnosis is never a good idea. 
  • Posted

Hi, Perhaps these one liners may help

The first thing is not to panic ...you are not alone. 

You have the right to request a second opinion

You have the right to change your GP 

You have already moved forward by recognising a possible problem 

There are many levels/types of bi-polar 

You may be at the lower scale 

Whilst its not always reliable to self diagnose ... search for for bi-polar self test  questionaires or screens ( there are many to choose from)  then do three different ones  over a period of say a week ... keep, save and print the results. In the interim start seeking help through your new contact ...ie new refferal , GP or indeed via websites (MIND) or forums. 

In the interim,  check the effects/side effects of the medication you are taking via websites ( Google etc) ...this will allow you to consider if any of the feelings, thoughts emotions could come from these? 

Keep a journal of how you feel day by day .... I draw a line as being normal and guage up and below the line as being high/ low plus comments ... it gives you the opportunity to look back and see whats going on. 

Rest is important, easy to say , hard to do ... try to avoid drugs to sleep .. use horlicks believe it or not , two tablespoons with hot milk and one sugar , this helped me