Help health anxiety or?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi there, I am new to this and would really really appreciate some help as I am struggling so badly....

I will be honest, I suffer with severe health anxiety and have done for years. I used to think I had a brain tumor as someone noticed I had uneven pupils. Went to the optician in October and all okay.

Anxiety is very very bad at the moment. I have made the hard decision to have CBT and also take citalopram which I have been taking for 10 days. They almost make me feel drunk, slow and very disconnected from the real world. Having to think about things more to understand them, feeling floaty and dizzy etc. Sleeping has been bad and vivid dreams also.

For the last 2 weeks I have been experiencing a new symptom with my anxiety, tingling in my face. I have had this before but it's gone off pretty quickly but this has lasted a while longer. I read up on trigeminal neuralgia and have now convinced myself this is what it is....

I have tingling, like a hair is on my face, also pain in both sides of my teeth, nose and head. Although I do have a cold so maybe also sinus?

It goes off when distracted, when touching my face, eating, moving facial muscles, sleeping on that side or when touching head etc. I do get the odd shooting pain but it goes off immediately and it's not that bad. It's just the ache all the time and tingling. I've also convinced myself I'm not talking normally or struggle to read.

I went to the doctors twice last week and was told its anxiety, also the therapist told me this twice and yesterday got so bad I went to the doctors and she did a physical examination like looked in my eyes, made me move my head/face and also reflexes.

All okay and told me not a tumor and a healthy blood test, I'm not convinced. I also get a blurry eye but goes away when glasses are used?

I am so depressed and desperate I hope someone can tell me what they think, share experience of TN etc?