Help I have a potassium phobia!

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi I'm 48 and take 20 mg of Benicar. My blood pressure is around 95/65 and my GFR is only 74 (should be 99). Also, my potassium is 4.2 (range 3.5-5). I read that as kidney disease gets worse it becomes harder for the kidneys to eliminate potassium and so I've suddenly become afraid of eating anything with potassium in it, and just about everything has potassium in it so I'm afraid to eat anything for fear of developing high potassium levels. Someone please tell me I'm crazy. I've been in a total panic for 2 days and I can't eat much. I'm drinking water and eating white rice.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Natalie,

I know exactly where you are coming from. but I believe you need to take a deep breath, relax and see the half full of the cup. I'm not a doctor but based on your GFR I believe you need not to worry much about it at this stage. however, you need to take precautions and adjust your diet to eat healthy and maintain your kidney function for as long as possible. I'm myself a kidney patient 31 years old female. I have other rare autoimmune diseases. my GFR is now 54 it was 70 5 years ago. but I haven't realised i have the disease until 2years ago. I eat healthy and everything. I don't follow a specific diet. reason is that I had a rare type of CKD which resulted in a very low potassium levels on the contrary of other patients who need to reduce potassium intake.

so everyone's different. you need to take things easy do not panic at all you have good kidney functioning so far and keep monitoring your blood pressure, diabetes and other nutrients in your body. you defo need to pay a dietitian a visit to follow a diet that's suitable for your condition and type of CKD.

finger crossed for you . hope I was any help to your concerns😊

• Posted