Help. I'm Feeling FAT

Posted , 9 users are following.

I know this has come up several times, but I think it helps me to focus. I am not just feeling fat, I am fat. I need to seriously lose weight, which I gained after menopause. Started gaining at age 50, and it's been going on for 10 years.

Please give me some suggestions. I think if I try one thing a week, I will stay more focused. I'm hoping to implement something new every Monday.

My first idea, beginning Monday, is to be sure I eat at least one serving of vegetables per day. No, I do not do this daily. So small steps to start, since I know I should be eating five servings per day!

1 like, 18 replies

18 Replies

• Posted

I worked in the medical field, and I don't know of anyone who eats five servings of anything in a day that's just way too much food for one and two if you want to lose weight I would suggest you try intermittent fasting. Basically it starts out very slow you do it once or twice a week and it's basically not eating for 16 hours starting the night before and just going until the next day until lunch time. Look it up on the web. Eat vegetables but not 5 servings a day unless you're vegetarian.

• Posted

Interesting Sochima! Something I never heard, but I will try it!
  • Posted

I can sympathise with you, I felt like I was gaining weight and I managed to loose a stone over several months, the way I done it was to cut out bread in the week, so for breakfast I switched to say porridge. I did watch what I ate in the day and filled up on fruit and my evening meals I put in a bowl to limit what I was having and switched potatoes for cauliflower mash but still ate normal at weekends. I swim at least twice a week and I didnt really feel hungry doing this, perhaps in the first week or so, it' s about really thinking what you eat in the day

• Posted