Help.... I want to stop taking my steroids for Adrenal Insufficiency. Has anyone stopped steroids??

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was terribly ill for 3 years prior to diagnosis and it's been another 2 years since diagnosed and started steroids. I feel like the side effects from taking medications are doing more damage than good and just want to stop treatment, Has anyone ever stopped treating their adrenal insufficiency???? I'm desperate and have been tapering Hydrocortisone and estrogen.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

hi Salenna

I am not an expert in this but have you figured out what kind

Of adrenal insufficiency you have, like

Primary, secondary or tertiary

Primary is more likely to have an adrenal crisis

and may require some steroids until

Your underlying condition is resolved

• Posted

Hi,

My partner and myself tried, with the help of our present endocrinologist to taper our hydrocortisone. We went from 40 mg/day him and 32.5 mg/day myself 18 mg/day. We both had to increase to 20 mg/day. That was the second time we we had tried to wean off. We cannot. You really need an endocrinologist who knows a lot about adrenal insufficiency/Addison's disease, to guide you and give tests and listen to your symptoms. If your adrenal insufficiency is autoimmune, then you have to take HC the rest of your life because is incurable. If it is adrenal insufficiency you will withstand tapering without symptoms... I'd like to know what are the side effects HC is giving you... Estrogen can be tested more easily, if it is too high, then the problem may be the estrogen. But what side effects is HC giving you ?

• Posted

I did read a patient story a couple months ago

Where they felt pretty good on a low dose

Like 3mg but between 2-3

I do believe that you could use some help

Tapering to a lower dose

Good luck

• Posted