HELP!!! Need so advise please

Posted , 3 users are following.

Having problems with my doctor to get under active thyroid treatment! After my last set of blood tests she said I COULD possibly develop this, however iv been suffering with the symptoms for years!!! Need HELP!!!

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

Hello Cherry1994:

I am an RN - nurse and live in the USA.  Please ask your doctor WHY he or she is not prescribing replacement hormones for your symptoms.  Also try and see if you can see a patient advisor/advocate about your doctor. 

You  need to log your symptoms and have your doctor look at it.  you can also write or even e-mail your doctor and explain how you feel.  I hope it works out for you.

• Posted

Hi Shelly, I have been given elleste duo and had been taking them for 6 months which done nothing at all! Iv also written everything in a log book and taken my temperature for 3 months in the morning, the core temp is averaging around 35 degrees not even getting near 36! And yet she still says that my tests are NORMAL! I'm at my wits end now, even this morning it's is 16 degrees outside however my heating is on and have layers of clothes on!! The NHS are not helping. Don't know what else to do!
    • Posted

Hello Cherry1994:

Is there anyway you could transfer to a different doctor in your NHS system?  It sounds like you have many Hypothyroid symptoms.  Is there anyway for you to contact the chief of Medicine at the NHS?  Write a letter asking for a change in doctors?

Does anyone in your family have thyroid problems?  Hypo or Hyper?  if so, tell your doctor that!!! 

Also can you use the Emergency Room,       (A & E) and explain how bad you feel.  I am sure a doctor in that dept. would prescribe you replacement hormone.  I think you should try that.

Normally, I would just contact the doctor's office and request that I be given an appt. and then explain how bad the symptoms are for you and it is keeping you from living a normal life.