Help needed...

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi I’m new on here and wanted to find out if anyone has gone through this. It’s driving me insane and I can only put it down to alcohol. I wouldn’t have described myself as an alcoholic but what do I know. I appreciate anyone who reads this, can relate to this or give me some advice. This is starting to affect me quite badly now and I’m getting pretty worried. 

Background: I’m 27 years old and have been drinking since 18 I live in the UK. At the age of 18 I became a holiday rep and basically ran bar crawls most nights and basically got drunk every night for near two years. Everyone does this at this age right?!!!! Or maybe not!... After finishing this I went to University where again 3 years of drinking heavily 7-10 pints of beer pretty much every day took place sometimes a lot more. I graduated uni and got a job. That was 4 years ago since then. I’d pretty much go out 2 nights a week and have between 2 – 5 pints and have about 20 pints over a Friday/Saturday weekend. I’ve cut down a lot now and maybe drink 3 times a week max 7-8 pints on a big night and 3 pints in the week.

Over the last 6 months I have been having symptoms after drinking which I don’t think are normal. I went to the doctors yesterday to get my bloods checked and am waiting to hear back. I have been before when these symptoms started but the doctor put it down to anxiety which I can tell you I’m definitely not an anxious person. Bit of a jack the lad and always up for a good laugh with everyone.

From about 6 months ago after a day of drinking 3 pints or more I’m getting the following feelings;

• Anxiety

• Muscle stiffness

• Spaced Out feeling like I’m looking at myself through someone else’s body

• Fatigue

• Twitches

• After a heavy session Palpitations and a shortness of breath (I much stress this is after 4 days lads holidays etc)

When I stop for a week I sort of go back to normal but the spaced out feeling is definitely still there.