Help ! Rebound acidity and PPI

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone. I have been using Nexium for 2 months for acid reflux and my doctor recommended tapering off the drug so I don't have sudden acid reflux. I now take Nexium once every 2 days, but on the days when I don't take it - I still have acid feeling in my stomach. It does not come back up to my esophagus , but I feel a burning in my stomach. Has anyone else experienced this too? Help !

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Sounds like acid rebound. Try some milk in the days you are off PPIs so long as you can take milk or try OTC H2 blockers.

• Posted

you need a liquorice root supplement and you have to watch your diet. also its grat idea to take some digestive enzyms which will help you to break down food there for the food you eat easy on your stomach and then your stomach wont make too much acid to break down food.

note : milk is only helps 30 mins then stomach produce even more acid to brake down the fats in milk . so milk is no no .

• Posted

I find that milk works for much longer than 30 minutes and my stomach doesn't produce extra acid to digest milk fats. My grandad who was a GP cured his stomach ulcer by drinking lots of milk. There is no one size fits all with acid reflux remedies. Everyone is different. For me, it's better to try a remedy first to find out how you react to it. Going by research articles alone is unreliable because it gives only general findings. It doesn't take into account individual reactions to health remedies. It's always going to be the case that what works for one person will not necessarily work foe another. Milk is not always a no no.

• Posted

i am sorry mate science doesn't agree with your granddad , milk doesn't cure any gastritis or acid. slightly alkalize it but thats all

• Posted