Helping my husband with depression and drink

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello

I'm new to all this!

Where do I start....at the begining!? I met my now husband 12 years ago, it was a whirlwind Romance we met in the November and we're engaged by the February we married 16 months later. We have been very lucky in our relationship it has always been a mutual attraction, we have never doubted our love. I have always been inspired by his drive and determination, he worked hard and played hard..he has always been a drinker. He could light up a room with his laughter, the heat and sole of any party.

But a few years ago he started to suffer from the onset of depression (not that I know it then) and back in March he hit his crisis point braking down and hitting rock bottom he admitted he added been drinking a bottle of whisky a day. we have 3 children 5, 2 and 1 and a tenant farm to run. I persuaded him to come with me to see the Dr and he is now on Meds which are working he is also seeing a counselor. The depression I can deal with, I get it, I have been looking after the farm and the children for a few months and that's fine it's what he needs to get better than I'm there doing it. but what I can't deal with is the drink! He has cut down loads and is now only drinking a pint or 2 a day BUT that pint can hit him quite hard and he is still using it as a crutch. I can not get him to stop. he says it's part of who he is, he enjoys it (he has little other enjoyment) it's what farmers do! But I see the effect it has on his mood, behavior his depression I know if he just sees it as part of the problem he would get better so much quicker but he just has ever justification under the sun why he shouldn't give it up completely. Am I being unfair? I know he has come so far from this time last year but I'm worried he will never truly get over this if be don't admit he is dependant on alcohol.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi,