Helping my son

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone. My son is 14 and been diagnosed with Arnold chiari malformation type 1 with syringomyelia (sryinx). Although he had previous symptoms ( I didn't know at the time were associated) it was found incidently via mri for bells palsy. He often loses control of his limbs, suffers headaches, something her refers to as room spin ans bowel issues. It has been confirmed he has fluid on his spine and brain. I'm so deeply worried about this. I've little knowledge of the condition and Google tells you everything worse case scenario. Any advice on how to best care for him with this condition is appreciated

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

You stated your son was tested for Bell's palsy. Does he have Palsy? The symptoms for Chiari are so varied and it is different for each person. Here is a good resource site for u. www.asap.org. Personally, I suffer constant headache,back pain, stomach pain, neck, ear and eye problems. I had decompression surgery in 2014. I'm in the bed as my neck pain is so bad. Hopefully someone else may be able to share some information. Hope u can get some answers.

• Posted

Hello, sorry about your Son, you must be so worried! It's hard enough as an adult to deal with chiari, let alone as a teenager.

I don't have a lot of advice I'm afraid, but I will say that ice packs on the back of my head/top of neck are really helpful. It doesn't help enough, unfortunately, but it does a little and that's better than nothing!