hemorrhoidectomy patient experience

Posted , 21 users are following.

I am not one to share like this however I found this board useful/frightening when researching about hemorrhoidectomy surgery. After reading many of the patient experiences I wanted to run and was petrified of going ahead with the surgery.  I am now POD 7 and thought I would share my positive experience to help balance out some of the scary stories.

I am a young healthy woman in my 30s, approximately 10 years ago I developed a fissure and hemorrhoids requiring a sphincterotomy and hemorrhoid banding.  I have since been banded an additional two times with no success.  I finally decided to pull the trigger and saw a colorectal surgeon who diagnosed me with stage 3 hemorrhoids.  He felt that surgical intervention was necessary and we opted for a stapled hemorrhoidectomy as it has a faster recovery time.  I was warned to plan on taking minimum two weeks off of work and perhaps even more as I am a medical professional and work 12 hours days and am on my feet for long hours.  

Prior to delving into my surgical experience I should divulge two pieces of information.  My hemorrhoids caused discomfort which is why I went forward with the procedure so baseline I am used to experiencing rectal discomfort and have been told by many that I have a high pain threshold.  Secondly I had a fissure.  If you have had one then you understand that it makes bowel movements horrifically, take your breathe away painful.  So all pain moving forward is compared to that as the baseline.