Hepatitis B immunisations

Posted , 2 users are following.

I've had my first hep b jab in september 2013 when i started a nursing degree, i then left that university before i had the 2nd and 3rd jabs, now i've started on a different nursing course and i need to have had all 3 before i can work in the hospital, i know that you are supposed to have 2nd jab a month after the first and the 3rd 5 months after, obviously i havent had the last 2. I've got my innoculation history and it says the 1st jab that i had expires in febuary 2015, in 4 months time. Does it mean that i now have to have the 1st jab again and then the last 2 or can i just have the 2nd and 3rd now? will i have to have the 2nd and 3rd before the 1st expires in febuary 2015? any help would be very much appreciated, thank you smile

Maybe one day i can post on patient.info as a 'Professional' when i'm a fully qualified nurse smile

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

You can pick up where you left off. Go ahead and get the second jab now and get the third five months later.  (The recommeded schedule calls for the first jab, second jab 4 weeks after the first and the third jab five months after the second.)  It's also wise to get a titer done when you are through to make sure the vaccination "took". I received the Hepatitis A & B vaccine (Twinrix) and four months following the completion of the series, I had my titer checked to make sure I had the immunity.  Best of luck in your nursing career Claire.  BTW did they also require you to get a BCG vaccination? It's also wise to have had your MMR and Tetanus/Diptheria/Pertussis jabs up to date.
    • Posted