hi all

Posted , 8 users are following.

I'm posting here because i'm having a really difficult time coming to terms and even accepting my diagnosis of CFS / ME. I'm currently 22 years old and was diagnosed about a year and a half ago. 

At first, I didn't feel "satisfied" with this diagnosis. I'm studying to be in a medical profession, and although I know that my symptoms are very real, I wanted something that could be TESTED! That could be proven. Something definitive. My personality has always been like this. I'm very type A, very logical.

However, as time went by I started to accept this diagnosis. Lately, though, I've been feeling as if I'm not "sick enough" to even have this disorder. I've read countless stories of individuals who have so much pain and are so sick that they are disabled and can barely leave their house. In comparison, my symptoms seem so miniscule and incomparible. 

My largest symptom is exhaustion. I suppose if you have CFS, you know what I mean. I'm currently taking Concerta and Provigil and these two medications do help me. Instead of sleeping all day, I'm able to go to classes, usually take a nap afterwards, do some work, then go back to sleep. I do have some other symptoms, but they are mostly mild and intermittent (such as sore throat, headache, tender nodes, pain). However, I am not disabled to a point that is is severely crippling. Although it is a struggle, I still am in school and doing relatively well (although that's just about the only thing I do).

I guess what I'm getting at is... do I even have CFS / ME? I feel like I'm not sick enough and am just being a big cry baby. I'd really appreciate your input. 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

My 14 year old daughter was diagnosed with cfs about 5 months ago. We still struggle at times to understand it. Like yourself some days she's OK and manages her normal day and activities. Other days she struggles to walk.