Hi I am a 36 year old female and was diagnosed with svt ...

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi I am a 36 year old female and was diagnosed with svt a few months ago. Since my early twenties I have suffered with panic attacks and tachycardia of which the cardiologist feels may well have been symptoms of svt. I have had two major attacks in the last three years, the first was on the motorway where I pulled over and within half an hour it had resolved. When I got home I saw the Gp who sent me to the hospital for 24 hour ECG, but my heart was well behaved during the test! I had no idea what was happening to me but knew it wasn't normal and must be some kind of arrythmia.

For the next few years I had minor attacks lasting a few seconds to a minute. It always seems to happen when i'm bending forward I could have a few attacks a day then nothing for a couple of weeks. I am a district nurse and my job involves bending over patients to do dressings etc and on many occassions my heart would miss a beat and then race really fast, my natural reaction was to cough and bang my chest hard and luckily each time it went away without me having to leave the job in hand.

A few months ago I was at home and bent down to pick something up off the floor and BAM! off we went again but this time it did not stop I felt extremely anxious as my chest was moving so fast with the force and rate of my heart, I felt short of breath and dizzy. My partner drove me to A&E after about twenty minutes, I was then rushed into resus and they gave me Adenosine after failed attempts to bring it back to normal rythmn by the breathing exercises. It was all very frightening. My heart rate was 220 bpm.