Hiatal hernia?

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all just wondering if you can help me out with a few questions as I'm abit stuck at the moment.

Is it possible that a hiatal hernia could be missed on an endoscopy or a barium swallow? I ask this because although I have been displaying all of the symptoms for the last 2 years I have had 2 endoscopies and one barium and they have picked up nothing whatsoever.

my symptoms are - can't take a full breath unless I yawn/ lean forward slightly. Regurgitating good as it seems to get stuck in my esophagus but this is usually when I'm sitting down, it ranges from me not being able to drink water to being able to gulp very thick milkshake. Heartburn where it feels like my stomach opens if that makes sense? I mean I have no problems chugging gaviscon when this happens. If I look down at my stomach it the left upper abdomen is often raised higher than the other side.

From any of your experiences does this sound familiar? I'm driving myself crazy here 😂

Thanks.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi I get all the symptoms u have and still haven't been diagnosed with the hernia, I regurgitation white foam sometimes food, my stomache very bloated I get twisting feeling in left abdomen, I get breathless bending to tie my kids shoes I'm not big person but my stomach feels full.. I'm waiting for app for endoscopy, my doctor seems to think it's IBS now and put me on 3 tablets a day the stomache is going down and I feel 90% bk to myself.. Iv never had a problem with my bowels so was quite shock when he suggested that.. Hope you get answers soon it's been a long yr with me trying to get to the bottom of it.. Keep us posted how u get on x

• Posted

A sliding Hiatus Hernia is very common and usually nothing to be concerned about. Most people with one live a normal life oblivious to it. A rolling hiatus hernia is more serious and usually requires surgery to correct it.