High igA in blood and bone density osteoporosis

Posted , 3 users are following.

Can somebody explain how a high igA level in the blood can affect bone density and  cause ( or at least contribute to) osteoporosis?

I have been diagnosed with O.P. and my endocrinologist attributes it to  a high level of igA found in my blood ( 4.32).She has prescribed Resendronate once a week which I should start shortly.

Although I am an educated  person, I could not understand this link, even in the most general terms.. And , by the way, if somebody has any comment  or personal experience on Risendronate, I'd love to hear.  

Thanks

Ittiandro

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Ittiandro,

I just had a Bone density test to determine if I had osteoporosis. I am not a doctor, so I have no idea how an IGA test alone could determine osteoporosis. I am curious to know how. You should ask your doctor to explain this. Best wishes to you!

• Posted

Thanks Brown45840

Unfortunately, I do have osteoporosis because the bone density  scan  ( DXA) has yielded a T-score of -4.3 which is well below the threshold of o.p. ( -2.5) , just about as low as one can get!

It is out of question that I have o.p.   even though I don't feel it and it doesn't restrict in any  manner my lifestyle and my sport activities! . 

What I was saying is that the endocrinologist attributes it to an excess igA level detected by the blood test .

She gave a rather cursory  explanation which I did not fully understand.

I did not feel like discussing this any further.  She is a very well known physician and  a university professor and  we were both pressed for time ( I have been on her waiting list for eight months!).

I think I should trust her. Just that I am very curious person! 

Take care 

Ittiandro

• Posted

Hi Ittiandro,