High myopia - after cataract surgery

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have high myopia (-18 in both eyes) as well as astigmatism, I had cataract surgery in the right eye one week ago. I see distance ok -- still a bit blurry. But I can't read anything!! Everything is blurry. I tried readers of up to 3.5 and still can't read anything. The doctor said to be patient, but I'm worried. I'm a cpa and have to be able to read. I was rushing getting the left eye done because I'm having such a hard time with one eye done and one not. Now I'm not so sure. Any advice?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I had surgery a little over a year ago.  I too had astigmatism but I was extraordinarily far sighted.  I could see well immediately following surgery, both near and far. In fact, I could read tiny print with ease. As time has gone on, however, while I still don't require corrective lenses of any kind, I can't read the tiny print as well and my vision seems less sharp as it was in the first few weeks following surgery.  So, vision can change.  I suggest you follow post op directions perfectly.  By now you should have had your follow up visit with your surgeon.  If not, make one asap.  I wouldn't be in too much of a rush to get the other done, though.  I'd wait until the first eye is settled.  I understand the difficulty you're having wtih your eyes being so incompatible.  Be careful what you do.  I waited only a week between eyes, as was recommended by my surgeon, but during that week I thought I'd go for a walk.  About two miles into my walk I misjudged the unevenness of the road (due to inpaired depth perception), misstepped and broke my ankle.  Then I had to walk back home on the broken ankle!  Good luck to you. I'm sure it will all work out okay, as this type of surgery is the most common and most successful surgery there is.

• Posted